Christ is Risen!

Tonight, while Bryce was off working on his scuba certification, my mom and I went to celebrate Good Friday and the beginning of Passover at the Tabernacle for the Easter concert with the Temple Square Chorale and Orchestra at Temple Square. Not only was the performance incredibly moving, as an extra bonus, I got to see a few familiar faces in the Chorale from my days in E7 (Rosemary O. and Ian C.), and in the Orchestra, my first violin teacher, Karen B.

The first piece was Maurice Duruflé’s Requiem, Op. 9. The entire Requiem was beautiful, but the Introit was mesmerizing, especially inside the Tabernacle with its wonderful acoustics. To get a taste of the beauty of the Introit, click here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y5S1RiSOPnY

The second half of the performance was a musical review of the final days of the Savior’s mortal mission; surveying Palm Sunday, Holy Thursday (the day of the Last Supper, as well as the washing and anointing of the disciples), Good Friday, and finally, the Resurrection. I’ve had good intentions the last few weeks of really jumping into the scriptures to study Jesus’ final days, in order to prepare myself better to commemorate the most important event in the history of the world.  I’ve come up short in my goal, but nonetheless felt my limited preparation and pondering the last few days helped give a little extra meaning to what I was hearing and feeling tonight at the Tabernacle. I’m hoping it also provided me with some extra motivation to do some more in depth studying in anticipation of this Sunday’s celebration, so that I can more fully comprehend the power of the statement “He is not here; for He is risen!”

Happy Easter!

Image

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

