So I Married a Football Fan …

Bless Bryce’s heart, he’s a football fan.  He LOVES the Pittsburgh Steelers and has since he was just wee little lad.  Our condo has Steelers blankets, a garbage can, nightlight, and apron.  I don’t think Bryce has actually purchased any of these items for himself, (nor are they prominent in our decor, thankfully) but they reflect other people’s knowledge of his love of the team.  I always said I didn’t want to marry a man who was into watching sports, but I guess you can’t have it all … but since he is practically perfect in every other way, I’ll give him this.  He always knows what’s going on with his team, but doesn’t usually go out of his way to watch games, but, when he found out his beloved team was going to be playing the Denver Broncos in the playoffs, he had to go. A few days later we found ourselves on the 8th row at the 30 yard line of Mile High Stadium. Rascall Flats belted out the Star Spangled Banner, and the Air Force flew 4 jets above the crowd.  The energy was unreal, and much to my surprise I found myself having a great time.  Not a bad way to watch my first NFL game or celebrate 3 weeks of marital bliss.  For those of you who follow football, you know that the Steelers lost in sudden death overtime, thanks to a play by the infamous Tim Tebow.  I was surprised at how bummed I was when they lost, but ultimately very grateful to my husband for wanting to take me and share that experience.  I’m not converted to football by any means, but it was a fantastically fun weekend and one I’ll always remember.  Go Steelers!

Game time at Mile High Stadium

Luckily for me, the Steeler's colors are gold and black, so I can pass as a fan in my street clothes most any day of the week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

