Sunday Evening Hike

Last Sunday, Bryce and I did some hiking with his mom and step-father, up and around the hills behind their home.  The weather was perfect and we enjoyed some much needed time out in nature after a fairly frenetic week.

Thoreau famously said (of going to Walden for two years), “I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.”  Though I haven’t removed myself from the world for any period of time close to Thoreau, I believe the core of his sentiment and motivation for going to Walden are largely the same reasons I enjoy being in nature.  I love that when I am away from my daily scene and in the mountains, the deserts, or water, I can strip life down to the basics, become centered again, and get a better handle on who I am.   A lovely way to spend a Sunday indeed.

*As usual, click the photo to enlarge.

Picture perfect view.

The mountainside was ablaze with thousands and thousands of these bright yellow flowers.

My wilderness man.

Heading home.

Sunset over Emigration Canyon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

